University Awards

The Chancellor’s Medal

This medal was first presented in 1967 as the Centennial Medal on the occasion of Chancellor William P. Tolley’s 25th anniversary as chancellor. The Centennial Medal, given to recognize service to higher education and society, was presented in the years 1967-1971. The name of the award was later changed to the Chancellor’s Medal in 1972. In the decades since, the medal has been given to “extraordinary individuals, whose career success and philanthropic contributions have had a significant impact on society and the University.”

2018 Award Recipients
Chancellor Emeritus Kenneth A. “Buzz” Shaw and Mary Ann Shaw

The Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence

This award was first presented in 1979 in recognition of outstanding achievement in teaching, scholarship, and creative work. Over time, the focus of the awards has changed to reflect new priorities and institutional directions.

2018 Award Recipients

Excellence in Student Research
Katie Duggan, College of Engineering and Computer Science
Woosang Hwang, Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics

Outstanding Contributions to the Student Experience and University Initiatives
Julie Walas, School of Information Studies and Athletics Department

Chancellor’s Citation for Faculty Excellence and Scholarly Distinction
Osamah Khalil, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
Dacheng Ren, College of Engineering and Computer Science

Lifetime Achievement Award
Stephen Maisto, College of Arts and Sciences

The Chancellor’s Forever Orange Award

The Chancellor’s Forever Orange award recognizes individuals who embody the spirit of Syracuse University through academic excellence, exemplary leadership, and selfless service to the entire Orange community, on campus and beyond.

2018 Award Recipients
Daniel Hansmeier, College of Arts and Sciences (undergraduate)
Miracle Rogers, College of Engineering and Computer Science (graduate)

The Chancellor’s Award for Public Engagement and Scholarship

First presented in 1992, this award grew out of an interest among students working with Syracuse University Students for the United Way to honor fellow students for their contributions to the community. The Chancellor’s Award for Public Engagement and Scholarship furthers that objective.

2018 Award Recipients
Michelle Kincaid, College of Arts and Sciences and Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs (undergraduate)
Benjamin T. Vasquez, University College (undergraduate)
Stephen Shepherd, College of Arts and Sciences (graduate)

Meredith Professorship for Teaching Excellence

A substantial bequest from the estate of Dr. L. Douglas Meredith, a 1926 graduate of the College of Arts and Sciences, allowed Chancellor Kenneth A. Shaw to create the Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professorships in 1995, to recognize and reward outstanding teaching at Syracuse University.

2018 Award Recipients
Michelle Kaarst-Brown, School of Information Studies
Tom Perreault, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs and College of Arts and Sciences

The Tolley Medal

As one of the nation’s pre-eminent leaders in higher education, William Pearson Tolley served as Syracuse University’s chancellor for 27 years. The University established the Tolley Medal in 1966 to recognize outstanding contributions by national and international leaders in what was then known as adult education.

2018 Award Recipient
Marlene Blumin, Professor Emerita

The George Arents Award

The George Arents Award is Syracuse University’s highest alumni honor, presented annually to alumni who have made outstanding contributions to their chosen fields. The award is named for George Arents, a successful manufacturer who served on the University’s Board of Trustees from 1930 until his death in 1960. Among his many legacies is the fund he endowed to provide this honor recognizing Syracuse University alumni for their extraordinary achievements.

2018 Award Recipients

Kevin Bell ’74, H’16
Dr. Sharon Brangman ’77
Emme ’85
Joseph Strasser ’53, G’58
Abdallah Yabroudi ’78, G’79

Years of Service to Syracuse University

A total of 135 faculty and staff were honored on April 20, 2018 for their significant years of service to Syracuse University, marking the start of a new tradition and the return of a former tradition.

45 Years
James Boeheim Jr.Gail EnsherRichard GrahamRobert HeaphyBrian McLaughlin
40 Years
Ricky BumpusDomenic IaconoVincent LoieroJoseph PlishkaMargaret Stearns
Patricia BurakDavid JensenThomas McGinnNancy RothschildHailu Tefferi
Kathleen Datthyn-MadiganRandall KormanAnn Marie McGinnisMarie SarnoJohn Walker
Rosanna GrassiVictor Lazarow
35 Years
Boyd BanksChristian DayPanayotis KoveosLawrence Mason Jr.Irene Peach
Evelyn BurkeDorry DearstineHelen KraussJanis MayesPeter Sala
Joseph ChaikenWilliam Drew Jr.Alan LevyRichard McCormackAshok Sangani
Pinyuen ChenDouglas FoleyStuart LissonTerrell NorthrupAndrew Schaeffer
Shelly CollinsHenry GaulPaul LogueJames OadJohn Seaver
Robert CooneyMarjorie GilletteCarl MaharJan OndrichMary Voorheis
Myra Daly
30 Years
Philip ArnoldPhilip Driscoll Jr.Kevin HaleyBarbara KwasnikMargaret Thompson
Jeffrey BitzDeborah EversonBonnie HollandM. Cristina MarchettiJanet Weiter
Craig BowersDonna FecteauThomas HouseTridib MazumdarMark Woods
Susan BracyMichael FerrariLaura HowardRobyn OreficeDonald Wright
Melissa CadwellAnne FitzsimmonsPaul JenkinsPatricia PitzeruseSusan Wright
Catherine CornwellRodney FosterKenneth JohnsonMark RupertDan Zacharia
Camille DonabellaWayne FranitsVeronica KearseEileen SimmonsBrian Zilles
Janet DonohueWilliam GoudyRosemary Kelly
25 Years
David AldingerJennifer DahlinKathleen JoyceJoanna MasingilaJohn Rossiter
Amy ArendsChristopher DeCorsePatrick KellyJeffrey MayerEdward Rother Jr.
Deanna BaileyGeorge DwyerDeborah KerwoodKaren McGeeMichael Shick
David BalfoortSusan EdmundsLori LashombeCharles MerrihewRavi Shukla
John BurdickDerek FarrellBrenda LawDonna PetreraRoger Stevens
Christine BurkinshawAndrew FrazoDeborah LawsonKaren PiedmonteA. Randall Wenner
John CarterJenny GluckJoseph LeeKathryn PynnDouglas Wolf
Karen CimillucaMarvin Gunn Sr.Marlon LegaspiAmie RedmondVirginia Yerdon
Patrick ColeCheryl HughesScott ManchinGrant Reeher