2019-20 Award Recipients

The Chancellor’s Medal 2019

This medal was first presented in 1967 as the Centennial Medal on the occasion of Chancellor William P. Tolley’s 25th anniversary as chancellor. The Centennial Medal, given to recognize service to higher education and society, was presented in the years 1967-1971. The name of the award was later changed to the Chancellor’s Medal in 1972. In the decades since, the medal has been given to “extraordinary individuals, whose career success and philanthropic contributions have had a significant impact on society and the University.”

2019 Award Recipient

Tim Green ’86, L’94
One of the most accomplished student-athletes in Syracuse University history, Green was a legendary member of the Syracuse Orange football team from 1982-85, and helped the Orange begin their football resurgence under head coach Dick MacPherson. After a stellar career at Syracuse, Green enjoyed tremendous success as a player in the National Football League and commentator, and then as an accomplished attorney and author.

Watch video of the 2019 Chancellor’s Medal ceremony.

The Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence

This award was first presented in 1979 in recognition of outstanding achievement in teaching, scholarship, and creative work. Over time, the focus of the awards has changed to reflect new priorities and institutional directions.

2020 Award Recipients

Excellence in Student Research

Undergraduate Awards
Matthew Ambalavanar ’20, biology graduate (pre-medicine track), College of Arts and Sciences
Naiya Jai Campbell ’20, communication and rhetorical studies graduate, College of Visual and Performing Arts
Tatiana Hernandez-Mitchell ’20, psychology graduate, College of Arts and Sciences
Megan Kelly Hu ’20, Spanish graduate, College of Arts and Sciences; marketing management graduate, Whitman School
Julia Riley ’20, biochemistry and neuroscience graduate, College of Arts and Sciences

Graduate Awards
Adrienne Atterberry, Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Sociology, Maxwell School
Emily Judd G’20, a Ph.D. graduate in Earth sciences, College of Arts and Sciences

Outstanding Contributions to the Student Experience and University Initiatives
Rebecca Kelly, assistant professor of communications design in the School of Design in the College of Visual and Performing Arts (faculty)
Kalpana (Kal) Srinivas G’12, interim executive director for student success in the Division of Enrollment and the Student Experience (staff)

Chancellor’s Citation for Faculty Excellence and Scholarly Distinction
Robert P. Doyle, professor, Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor and director of graduate studies in the Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences

Lifetime Achievement Award
Charles T. Driscoll Jr., University Professor of Environmental Systems and Distinguished Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering in the College of Engineering and Computer Science

The Chancellor’s Forever Orange Award 2019

The Chancellor’s Forever Orange award recognizes individuals who embody the spirit of Syracuse University through academic excellence, exemplary leadership, and selfless service to the entire Orange community, on campus and beyond.

2019 Award Recipients
Peter Sala, vice president and chief facilities officer
Peter Choi, senior political science and policy studies major, College of Arts and Sciences and Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs

The Chancellor’s Award for Public Engagement and Scholarship

First presented in 1992, this award grew out of an interest among students working with Syracuse University Students for the United Way to honor fellow students for their contributions to the community. The Chancellor’s Award for Public Engagement and Scholarship furthers that objective.

2020 Award Recipients

Undergraduate Award
Brianna Howard ’20, public health major, Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics

Graduate Award
Breanna LeCompte, graduate student majoring in higher education, School of Education

Meredith Professorship for Teaching Excellence

A substantial bequest from the estate of Dr. L. Douglas Meredith, a 1926 graduate of the College of Arts and Sciences, allowed Chancellor Kenneth A. Shaw to create the Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professorships in 1995, to recognize and reward outstanding teaching at Syracuse University.

2021 Award Recipients
Two cohorts of the award were named in 2021:

The 2020-23 Meredith Professors are Melissa Chessherprofessor and chair of magazine, news and digital journalism in the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, and Elisa Macedo Dekaneyassociate dean of research, graduate studies and internationalization in the College of Visual and Performing Arts (VPA) and professor of music education in VPA and the School of Education. Their Meredith terms will run from 2021-24.

The 2021-24 Meredith Professors are Tina NabatchiJoseph A. Strasser Endowed Professor in Public Administration and professor of public administration and international affairs in the Maxwell School, and Margaret Vossassociate professor of nutrition and food studies in the David B. Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics.

Learn more about the award recipients.

The Tolley Medal 2019

As one of the nation’s pre-eminent leaders in higher education, William Pearson Tolley served as Syracuse University’s chancellor for 27 years. The University established the Tolley Medal in 1966 to recognize outstanding contributions by national and international leaders in what was then known as adult education.

2019 Award Recipient
Donald Ely, professor emeritus (late)

The George Arents Award

The George Arents Award is Syracuse University’s highest alumni honor, presented annually to alumni who have made outstanding contributions to their chosen fields. The award is named for George Arents, a successful manufacturer who served on the University’s Board of Trustees from 1930 until his death in 1960. Among his many legacies is the fund he endowed to provide this honor recognizing Syracuse University alumni for their extraordinary achievements.

2018 Award Recipients

Kevin Bell ’74, H’16
Dr. Sharon Brangman ’77
Emme ’85
Joseph Strasser ’53, G’58
Abdallah Yabroudi ’78, G’79